*
maystar design
Get awesome blog templates like this one from BlogSkins.com
* * *
My possessions don't own ME.

Operation:Clean out my stuff is progressing. I made $77 at the consignment sale, and most everything I sold was little small items, most of which were given to me in the first place. Example: used, too big maternity clothes that my friend forced me to accept. I said "it's too big" and she said "You will get bigger!" Like I'm a huge idiot and haven't been pregnant before. You don't go from size SMALL maternity to size LARGE. The stupid pants wouldn't even stay up. I don't know what it is about that friend but she always takes a condescending tone and LOVES, and I mean LOVES to argue about anything and everything. Yet I feel like she really appreciates me as a friend (maybe she doesn't have many) and always does a lot for me. So I'm nice.
Also in that load was a single jogging stroller that I paid $35 for used and sold for $45. Woo hoo! Can I add that "jogging stroller" is an oxymoron because I could never jog while pushing my child in that huge contraption.
This was quite a large consignment sale and I contacted the coordinator when I signed up to participate. I asked her if I could have some of the leftover donations after the sale (the sellers can choose to "donate" their leftover items, or take them back home. I just wanted to look through the pile before it went off to Goodwill). I said I was in need of toddler boy clothes in 3T and 4T, and shoes in his size, and I also mentioned I need a pack-n-play or crib, changing table, and exersaucer. Well, I didn't count on getting ALL of those things, because what are the odds? But I was sure there would be some clothes left over. Well, she agreed and said she would set aside things for me after the sale. When I went to pick it up there was a HUGE bag of clothes, probably 20 pieces and 3 pairs of shoes, and an EXERSAUCER! I was SOOOOO thrilled; I felt like I won the lottery. I have never had an exersaucer before! I think it will be a great thing for the baby! She also let me look through some leftover toys. I found a toy set of pots and pans and dishes, and a xylophone, and a folder with truck magnets inside, and a couple of small finger puppets. Sooo, after my free "shopping spree", I got alot of wonderful goodies that I needed, but it didn't really help my "clean out my stuff" process. I'm still thrilled. I feel oh so blessed.
I also took a BUNCH of CD's and a few DVD's to a store that buys used. I took over 50 CD's and they only accepted TWO, and two DVD's. I got $12.80 for that. Woohoo? I have another store in mind to try to sell of the rest of them.
Nick went back to Laos on Saturday. He will be there for about 2-3 months. I cried a lot on Sunday. I felt really lonely at church by myself.
I have been going to the same church in town on and off since I was 16. From when I was 16 until last year, the church met in a rented office building. This year the church was finally able to buy a building, which was the former ice skating rink. I played ice hockey there in my teens, but it went out of business. Of course it needed lots of remodeling to resemble a church on the inside (still looks the same on the outside), and the work is all being done by men in the church on a volunteer basis. Next month there will be a yard sale to try to raise money to build a playground outside. So, a lot of my lovely stuff will go to that cause. I have already taken 3 car loads of donations over. There just comes a time in your life where you realize, "Hey, I don't need to keep these 2 soccer balls I have had since highschool." And gradually, your house starts seeming larger.





Monday, Apr. 16, 2007 at 10:28 PM



[diaryland]
* m a y s t a r *
designs

Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker Lilypie1st Birthday Ticker
www.flickr.com


Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com