*
maystar design
Get awesome blog templates like this one from BlogSkins.com
* * *
Thesis Lady

In about an hour and a half I will be presenting my thesis to a live audience. I'm not really nervous about the presentation aspect, but the professors did promise their students bonus points if they went. It is kind of ridiculous for people who have never been to Laos/will never go to Laos to come to my presentation about "Strategies for Foreigners Teaching English as A Foreign Language in The Land of a Million Elephants".
I mean...what do they care? I don't want a roomful of students doing that "audible sigh" thing to indicate their boredom. They can kiss my Master's Degree holding hiney.
Of course that would be extremely unsanitary.
******<- this is the separation indicating that I am about to talk about my life as a mom now:
Last night we went to a Japanese restaurant. Jonas loves to eat the soft tofu pieces out of the miso soup. He also likes rice, noodles, and he cried for a piece of Nick's sushi. Anyway, last night was special because HE USED CHOPSTICKS FOR THE FIRST TIME!
I was so amazed. I had bought him a training set of chopsticks about 6 months ago but I didn't expect him to be able to do it until he is like three or older. When I taught first grade in China, usually the younger children were given spoons to eat lunch with.
Now, granted, the chopsticks he did use had the little trainer around the top, but I was still amazed. I saw a 2 1/2 year old in Laos using chopsticks to eat noodles with, but she is one of those perfect kids who can do everything and speaks in full sentances and can draw realistic looking pictures, so I didn't have a very high expectation for Jonas to reach those heights at a young age.
He has also been eating alot more foods voluntarily, and sitting at the table with us for longer periods during meals. He is turning into my dream child, finally!
Did I meantion he is now sleeping from 9p.m. to 6a.m.? Believe me, this is a HUGE improvement from a few short weeks ago when he was going to bed at 8pm and waking up 2 or more times before getting up for the day at 5a.m.
Mama is happy.





Thursday, Jul. 20, 2006 at 2:52 PM



[diaryland]
* m a y s t a r *
designs

Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker Lilypie1st Birthday Ticker
www.flickr.com


Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com