*
maystar design
Get awesome blog templates like this one from BlogSkins.com
* * *
Mr. Wheeze

This weekend we ended up going to Thailand just over the border of Laos to a city called Udon Thani in order to take Jonas to the doctor there. He has this cough that is getting progressively more old-man-like. It kind of gags him sometimes. This evening we went to the park and he was coughing like crazy; people were staring. Then at one point he picked up a cigarette butt off the ground and put it in his mouth (a favorite habit of his that repulses me to no end...sometimes I'm just not fast enough).
We went shopping before and after the doctor visit. We bought him a little fake laptop computer that plays all kinds of songs and also says letters and numbers and spells words. It was $12 which kind of felt like a splurge but we have gotten alot of fun out of it already so I think it will be worth it. We also got one of those unitard swimsuit things for kids that has the floating devices built into it. I will admit, the cool factor is about zero in the looks department, but safety is the primary concern at this point. Jonas seems to think he can just walk right into a body of water, completely unassisted. We put it on him just to see if it fit okay and he cried hysterically, which reminded me that when we were in the States last summer we bought him a baby lifejacket towards which he had similar distressed feelings. So I might have just wasted my money a second time, but we shall see.
*Gasp*! I was just kind of sitting here thinking "What can I write about my life as opposed to Jonas' life...?" and I realized that today I had THE BEST PASTA I HAVE EVER EATEN IN MY LIFE!
There is his itallian restaurant in Udon Thani, Thailand that is unbelievably authentic. The Piccola Roma is owned by an Itallian man who is married to a Lao woman and lives in Thailand (complicated, right?). It is a favorite of the American servicemen who find themselves in Udon Thani to learn jungle maneuvers. Anyway, I have been there a couple of times before but I don't know that I had ever had fresh homemade noodles that were just made a few hours before my lunch! Woo! The best spinach and mushroom fetticini ever!
I guess you had to be there.



Sunday, Mar. 05, 2006 at 10:18 PM



[diaryland]
* m a y s t a r *
designs

Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker Lilypie1st Birthday Ticker
www.flickr.com


Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com