*
maystar design
Get awesome blog templates like this one from BlogSkins.com
* * *
happy horidays

I have been having severe computer, telephone, and internet issues. I guess that is one of the downsides of living in a developing country. I just wish it would develop a little faster sometimes.

We had our least traditional Christmas ever this year, with no gifts, no decorations, and no feast. We went to a tourist place called Vang Vieng, about 3 hours away, and saw some caves and pretty mountains and things. It was nice to get away. Our room in the guesthouse had no TV, so it felt really relaxing to just read and talk and take in nature.

I was thinking a good way to save money in the states would be to celebrate every holiday about 2 weeks late. I mean, think about it. Halloween, Thanksgiving, Christmas, Valentines...all of that seasonal crap goes on sale the day after the festivities. But why should we be restricted to the calendar to celebrate these occassions? It is all a conspiracy by the conglomerates to commercialize America and take away all shreds of meaning in our souls and or/ holidays. Frankly, it's sickening. I say, fight the power!

Yesterday Nick and I went to a New Years party with one of our classes. There was traditional Lao dancing involved, which basically involves alot of Asian looking hand movements. They told me I was good at it, but they say that about everything I do, including the way I butcher their language.

I taught them how to do "the swim". It was fun because whatever I did they mimiced, like a big game of "Candice Says."

I also have sad news for you all. The cute little brown dog in the previous entry, Tinkles, is missing. We can only hope that he will be restored to us one day. I think tha in light of these new developments it is inappropriate to disclose which animal was the consistent victor in the daily wrestling matches.*sniffle*

ckb


Sunday, Dec. 28, 2003 at 1:16 PM



[diaryland]
* m a y s t a r *
designs

Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker Lilypie1st Birthday Ticker
www.flickr.com


Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com