*
maystar design
Get awesome blog templates like this one from BlogSkins.com
* * *
working girl

Would you believe that today is the first time I have been within sight of a computer since last Friday? I am in an internet cafe again and my e-mail thingy isn't working, so I figured I would give some tender loving care to the ol' diary. I hope to get my very own internet service sometime next week, and then I can tell you about every little iota of excitement that occurs in this fair city. And I plan to respond to guestbook entries, too. Just you wait.

I have been so busy this week. We moved into our loverly Lao house, and that caused me to have to do alot of cleaning and airing-out things. I had to clean in order to convince myself a bug wasn't going to crawl on my face at the midnight hour whilst I slumbered unsuspecting.

I have also been doing Lao language lessons and attended a training workshop about being a better EFL teacher. Do you know the difference between EFL and ESL? Neither did I. ESL (English as a Second Language) is for children who will live in an English speaking country and need to speak it fluently. EFL (English as a Foreign Language) is for people who will probably never visit/live in an English speaking country (my students). Tomorrow I am going with a friend to read to kids in English (just for fun), and there is also a birthday party to attend.

Next week I will attend language school every day and hopefully take a huge step toward literacy. Woo! Also on the agenda is going to a seamstress to get my offical Lao teaching skirts made, mailing my brother's birthday present and a postcard to Nikki (already written), supervising a youth group meeting on Wednesday (subliminal message: Jenny, move to Laos), cleaning the guest bedroom of the house, and the adoption of a new kitten. Woo-hoo! We also need a laundry basket and a mixing bowl.

Let me catch my breath.

ckb

P.S. I went to a restaurant that had fried crickets on the menu. oww oww!


Friday, Sept. 19, 2003 at 6:40 PM



[diaryland]
* m a y s t a r *
designs

Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker Lilypie1st Birthday Ticker
www.flickr.com


Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com