*
maystar design
Get awesome blog templates like this one from BlogSkins.com
* * *
rats!

As I was walking to a restaurant this evening for dinner, I stepped off the sidewalk exactly over a circular drainage hole. At that same instant, a rat peeped out his face and then ducked it back inside, kind of like one of those "Whack-a-Mole" games at the arcade. My first reaction was to say "Eww," but then I started thinking how the rat was actually kind of cute. I recently read The Wind in the Willows (or is it Wind AND the Willows?), and there is a rat character in the story who is very cordial, so this might have affected my thinking. But if rats didn't carry disease, weren't sneaky and aggressive, and didn't live in holes, they would probably be socially acceptable and be called 'cute' more often. In highschool I had a friend who had a couple of pet ferrets. She let them sleep in her bed, and her room smelled of rodent urine, but she still had friends, myself included, and was considered normal.

One of the Austrailians I met this year talked of tutoring a boy whose family kept a large number of rats as pets. He said they weren't in cages and would just mill about the house. I find that disturbing. If you want pet rats, I think two is the limit. My grandmother had a pet white rat. She was always talking about how clean it was and how she let it play in a dollhouse.

I visited "The Ancient City" today on the outskirts of Bangkok. I think I would have gotten more out of it if I knew more Thai history. I bought some musical trinkets for my bro bro, and yesterday I bought a tie for my dad in honor of Father's day. A tie. From Tieland. Har har har.

I mailed out the rest of the postcards today. Be excited! Wheeee!

ckb


Friday, Jun. 20, 2003 at 6:43 PM



[diaryland]
* m a y s t a r *
designs

Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker Lilypie1st Birthday Ticker
www.flickr.com


Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com