*
maystar design
Get awesome blog templates like this one from BlogSkins.com
* * *
3 year anniversary

Do you know what today is? It is my three year wedding anniversary. The years go by fast, I tell you. I am starting to think in the manner that I have heard old people talk all of my life.

I guess I should tell you how we are celebrating. Well, Nick is over at the school helping a student get ready for an English speech contest, and I am doing laundry. I also had a spurt of energy and inspiration in which I transferred an open bag of detergent into a glad ware container.

Earlier I made perogies for dinner, from scratch. I am so Eastern European today. Grandmother would be proud.

Three years�hmm. In year one we were in the U.S. I was finishing up college. I don�t remember how we celebrated. In year two we had just returned from Belize and bore witness to my younger brother�s high school graduation. This year, we are in China, celebrating our 7th week of quarantine. We haven�t really bought each other presents for Christmas or anniversaries since we were engaged. One reason is that we don�t have tons of money, and it wouldn�t be that fun to like, buy each other pres�holy Moses, it is hailing outside! They are the size of English peas! I wouldn�t have noticed, except for we have all of the windows open in the entire apartment because it is kind of hot these days and we aren�t allowed to turn on the air conditioner because of SARS. And, starting yesterday, before we go to work each morning, a lady in a white coat zaps us on the forehead with a laser in order to take our temperature to make sure that we aren�t feverish.

Anyway, like I was saying, to me, when we buy each other presents with money that we both had to earn, the thrill is kind of gone, you know? I�d rather spend the time together.

I am keenly aware of how money relates to work which in turn relates to life. Back when I earned an hourly wage at the coffee shop, when I would go shopping, I would think, �This costs 3 and one half hours of my life. Is it worth it?� The answer was pretty much always a resounding �no�, which is why (before I came to China, the land of bootleg clothing) I have always been content to go around in second-hand and ill-fitting clothing, and why I don�t jump at the chance to go to the movie theatre (that is a triple waste! 1. time 2. life and 3. money), and why I am turning into more and more of a �do-it-yourselfer�. One year, Nick�s mother gave me a Target gift card for Christmas. I spent it all on groceries. Priorities, my friends. I am willing to pay for an experience, but not so willing to shell out for a thing. I�m all for a class or a cultural experience. I like living.

Happy 3rd Anniversary, Ni Ni.

ckb



Tuesday, May. 27, 2003 at 7:31 PM



[diaryland]
* m a y s t a r *
designs

Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker Lilypie1st Birthday Ticker
www.flickr.com


Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com