*
maystar design
Get awesome blog templates like this one from BlogSkins.com
* * *
gourmet Ramen

The darlings hard at work in their Superkids workbooks.

Yesterday was the one month anniversary of our quarantine! I didn't receive any gifts, cards, or flowers, but I'm sure they will come. I mean, most of the people who read this are 12 hours behind my time zone. So that explains it. I always feel special that I know the future.

Anyway, in my life, I have gradually become a food snob. I like to cook wonderful and exotic things, and I don't really enjoy things like, say, a peanut butter and jelly sandwich or Ramen Noodles. Actually, when we were in Belize, we ate Ramen noodles about six times a week, and I REALLY REALLY hated it. I felt like I would chew and chew and chew and still have a plateful. Ick.

BUT desperate times call for desperate measures. Truth be told, I am not desperate by any stretch of the imagination, but I have had to become a little resourceful, if you will.

There is a small store on campus that sells things like ice cream bars and sodas and things that the students like to eat. They also sell instant noodles, which I have grown to love again! I have to prepare the instant noodles in my own special and compulsive way, using a sauce recipe adapted from my Thai cooking class' 'cashew nut chicken'. Follow along with my easy step-by-step process.

Step 1

Put small pot of water on to boil.

Step 2

Break block of instant noodles into fourths or thirds, depending on mood. Add to boiling water.

Step 3

Locate seasoning packets. Disgard. I repeat, DO NOT USE SEASONING PACKETS!

Step 4

In a medium sized bowl, combine the following :

1 teaspoon honey

1 teaspoon oyster sauce (a base for so many Thai and Chinese dishes)

2 teaspoons soy sauce

Step 5

As noodles are boiling, seperate them with a fork.

Step 6

Drain noodles in a collander.

Step 7

Add drained noodles to sauce mixture and toss with a fork until coated well. It should be an appetizing dark brown color.

Step 8

Enjoy.

So tasty, yet so inexpensive and easy. The entire process takes less than 10 minutes. But you don't have to take my word for it! *shiney smile* *thumbs up*

ckb


Wednesday, May. 14, 2003 at 12:04 PM



[diaryland]
* m a y s t a r *
designs

Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker Lilypie1st Birthday Ticker
www.flickr.com


Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com