*
maystar design
Get awesome blog templates like this one from BlogSkins.com
* * *
they say it's my birthday

April 11, 2003 marks my twenty-third birthday. I celebrated by having a birthday potluck with my coworkers and friends, who, incidentally, are one and the same.

I was also honored by some of my students. They gave me lovely gifts like origami and a used pencil and used erasers and some key chains and some used sticker and some Kleenex, and a sheep figurine that is anatomically correct.

This is a photo taken seconds after the extinguishing of the birthday candles.

In honor of this day, I would like to attempt to list everything I have accomplished in my twenty-three years. In no particular order:

1) I have lived in 3 different countries: the United States, Belize, and China.

2) Have obtained a high school diploma and an undergraduate degree.

3) Have held various jobs, including a Subway (eat fresh!) sandwich artist, a Chick-fil-a cashier, a nanny, a barista, a reservationist, an office assistant, a deck swabber (aye aye, cap�n), a t-shirt folder, an EFL teacher to adults, an EFL teacher to first-graders, and a country coordinator.

4) I have had experience in the art worlds of black & white and infa red photography, stained glass, drawing, graphic design, video editing, and clay.

5) I can cook. Some specialties include red beans and rice, vegetarian biscuits and gravy, mega-noodle soup, herb bread, apple bread, focaccia, and vegetable stew. I like to bake.

6) I have participated in the organized sports of soccer, basketball, soft ball (fast and slow pitch), ice-hockey, cross-country, karate, and (currently) bowling.

7) I have learned to play 5 musical instruments: violin, piano, flute, recorder (ha ha!), and banjo. I have also forgotten how to play them all over again. Quite an accomplishment if you ask me.

8) I have been married for nearly three years.

9) I have been a vegetarian for nearly eight years.

10) I have read and written thousands of e-mails. Heh.

11) I have experience using many different kinds of bathroom facilities, including western style, an outhouse, and a squatty.

12) I can speak limited Spanish and Chinese.

13) I have read a whole heap of a lot of books.

14) I have ridden a bicycle, a horse, an elephant, a donkey, a hot air balloon, a plane, a car, a bus, a tuk-tuk, a bicycle-taxi thing, a boat, a kayak, a ship, a canoe, a skateboard, a sled, an inner tube, a four wheeler, a scooter, and I can also ice skate and roller skate. Woo!

15) I have lived in a hut, a dorm, a house, an apartment, and a cabin.

16) I have eaten fruits and vegetables you have neither heard of nor seen.

17) I have never broken a bone.

18) I have taken art classes, cooking classes, writing classes, Bible classes, and aerobics classes. Not to mention your general college and/or high school classes.

19) I have had a variety of pets, including cats, dogs, a hamster, a mouse, finches, a turtle, a bunny, frogs, and fish.

20) Awards and accolades include: �We Love Homewood Day� essay contest 2nd place winner, circa 8th grade; Who�s Who (class clown) in both middle school and high school years, National Honors Society, Beta Club, Junior Optimist Club, SGA vice president, and a Varsity letter in Soccer. In College I was Mass Communications Student of the Year in 2001, a member of the Golden Key Honors Society, Cum Laude, Dean�s List, President�s List.

21) I am a sister, daughter, wife, and friend.

So, there you have it. It may not amount to much, but it is kind of gratifying to sum up my life in a nutshell. Hopefully I will have more to add year 24.

ckb



Friday, April 11, 2003 at birthday time!



[diaryland]
* m a y s t a r *
designs

Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker Lilypie1st Birthday Ticker
www.flickr.com


Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com