*
maystar design
Get awesome blog templates like this one from BlogSkins.com
* * *
no more Jack Frost!

I am staying busy with teaching, and the bowling league, and the studies, and language classes, and house keeping, and reading. So, naturally, time is flying by like greased lightening.

I can't believe it. My twenty-third birthday is just around the corner. Twenty three -- it sounds like a lot of years, but having actually lived them, it seems that they went by in the blink of an eye. And then there is the poignant feeling that for all of these years I have lived, I haven't really done anything yet. Ah well, call it my mid-life crisis that I have been suffering under since age 19.

Our site visit to Laos is just around the corner. I am excited, and I really have no expectations. My mind is a blank slate on the matter. I have no idea what our housing will be like, what the school will be like, even what the country and team will be like. But it is warmer than a Beijing winter, I know this.The winter is finally ebbing here. This week, temperatures have been in the 60's. At its worst, the cold would stay around 12-20 degrees. I had never been through a cold winter (as I am from Alabama), but I imagine that being cold here was worse than a winter in the U.S. Our apartments were not heated well. We only have radiators that are powered by a coal burning area somewhere on campus. Often they would not be on at all in an effort to save money. I regularly slept in gloves, a hat, a scarf, a sweat suit, thermal underwear, wool socks, and occasionally, my down coat. But all that is behind me now, and Mr. Bluebird is on my shoulder. It is the truth. It's actual. Everything is satisfactual.

ckb


Tuesday, Apr. 01, 2003 at 7:47 PM



[diaryland]
* m a y s t a r *
designs

Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker Lilypie1st Birthday Ticker
www.flickr.com


Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com