*
maystar design
Get awesome blog templates like this one from BlogSkins.com
* * *
love child...never meant to be

I just finished my first ever wearable sewing project. I made a blanket and a beanie (hat) for the illegitimate son of an ex-boyfriend. My heart aches for that baby. You would understand if you knew the parents. I pray for him, that he won't be all bitter about being a bastard child and having lazy parents who don't have a plan for raising him.

And now, for the occassion, here are the lyrics to "Love Child," as sung by Dianna Ross in the 1960's. Its one of those songs that gets stuck in my head sometimes...(my father has been an Oldies D.J. for like 30 years.)

"You think that I don't feel love

But what I feel for you is real love

In other's eyes I see reflected

A hurt, scorned, rejected

Love child, never meant to be

Love child, born in poverty

Love child, never meant to be

Love child, take a look at me

I started my life in an old, cold run down tenement slum

My father left, he never even married mom

I shared the guilt my mama knew

So afraid that others knew I had no name

This love we're contemplating

Is worth the pain of waiting

We'll only end up hating

The child we maybe creating

Love child, never meant to be

Love child, (scorned by) society

Love child, always second best

Love child, different from the rest

Mm, baby (hold on, hold on, just a little bit)

Mm, baby (hold on, hold on, just a little bit)

I started school, in a worn, torn, dress that somebody threw out

I knew the way it felt, to always live in doubt

To be without the simple things

So afraid my friends would see the guilt in me

Don't think that I don't need you

Don't think I don't wanna please you

No child of mine 'll be bearing

The name of shame I've been wearing

Love child, love child, never quite as good

Afraid, ashamed, misunderstood

But I'll always love you"

ckb



Tuesday, May. 14, 2002 at 11:10 AM



[diaryland]
* m a y s t a r *
designs

Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker Lilypie1st Birthday Ticker
www.flickr.com


Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com