*
maystar design
Get awesome blog templates like this one from BlogSkins.com
* * *
broken decks and manhood

One time when i was 16 i had this friend named Merril. Her parents had three beach houses they had fixed up, and two different times she invited me to go with her for the week to one of the beach houses. It was pretty fun and her parents were really good cooks. One day we were all four eating dinner together and we heard a the groaning and cracking of wood nearbye. We looked out the window to see that our neighbor had been sitting on top of her deck on the second story and it had totally broken off of the house and fallen to the ground. On the ground we saw some legs. It looked like the lady was crushed under the balcony, like the witch in the Wizard of Oz. So we called an ambulance and then Merril's mom and stepdad ran over there. The lady was pretty much O.K., not crushed. But she thought that she was still upstairs. (She was kinda old). She had fixed herself a bowl of fruit, like cantalope and honeydew mellon. The fruit was everywhere. Isn't that sad?

I hadn't thought of that day in a long time. I had to write about it for posterity.I wonder what Merril is doing these days...

I wonder what my old friends think about me now. I get so tired hanging out with people. I'd really rather just read a book or something. What does that make me?

You know what else...American boys need an intitiation ceremony into manhood so that they know when to be a man. I have several friends who are really fighting against growing up. A couple of them have repeatedly quit their jobs and gone to hike for weeks in order to 'find themselves' in the woods. I have a secret: you are not in the woods so save yourself the trouble of looking. Especially more than once.

My old boyfriend is a nearly twentyone year old college freshman. And we started college at the same time. I am a senior. There is no real excuse for him. He just kept dropping out of classes mid way through the various semesters. We have probably paid the same amount of tuition. I think i have talked my brother into going to community college when he graduates highschool next year. Then he won't suffer a similar fate.

Boys don't know when to become men anymore. And many don't realize that buying a car or having sex is not exactly a right of passage. We should make them kill a hawk and drink the blood or something. That would satisfy them...

hmmm

ckb


2001-07-05 at 8:32 a.m.



[diaryland]
* m a y s t a r *
designs

Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker Lilypie1st Birthday Ticker
www.flickr.com


Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com