*
maystar design
Get awesome blog templates like this one from BlogSkins.com
* * *
being neighborly

Last night Nick left right after work to go to Tennessee to spend the night with his dad in the hospital. So I was hanging out by myself at the apartment waiting for Garrett to get home from work. I checked my email, called my brother to see when i am working for him this weekend...and then there was a knock at the door.

It was my upstairs neighbor. She is 32 years old and was drunk and wanted to see if i would drink with her. I told her i didn't drink but i would hang out if she wanted to come down. She said 'well, what do you do?' (meaning drugs) and i said nothing. But she came down with her bottle of whiskey and we were just shooting the bull, talking about our pets, and she was talking about how she hated her husband of four months, etc. Then we talked about the landlord and how she does cocaine. And then she showed me her apartment and her dogs and said that she was about to go try crack for the first time. And I told her that wasn't a good idea since she didn't even have a job she can't afford crack. Plus she just got out of detox earlier this week for alcohol and walked straight to a liquor store!!!

So i decided to distract her by...GIVING HER A HAIR CUT. I have never cut hair before, but i must say i did a darn good job. I cut about six inches off, she loved it. She was even kind enough to let me leave her a rat tail. It is a beauty, too. Her hair is now shoulder length and the rat tail (which i braided) hangs down to the middle of her back. She said she would grow it out forever.

Garrett got home during the middle of the haircut session, but he wasn't much help. Afterwords he said that he thought the lady was a bum i had brought home. He just sat on the couch and pretended to read the Hobbitt. So i let the lady use our phone to call her mom and her best friend, and i gave her some markers and some paper and a pez dispenser and a painting i had made that she liked. I wanted her to be able to entertain herself so i could go to bed and she wouldn't do crack. I reminded her about her kids and how they worry about her (ages 9, 4 and 3) and she cried and stuff. Then she went back upstairs to her apartment and listened to country music so loudly that we could hear through the floor. Me and garrett talked about the whole situation and laughed nervously and went to bed.

It was fun for me sleeping in bed by myself for a change. I finally got to sprawl out. I wish i could do that more often. I like to sleep in the star position.

to those who think, life is a comedy. to those who feel, life is a tragedy. as for me, i've got the good Lord above, and nothing else that i can be sure of. and that's all i need.

that's all i need

ckb


2001-01-17 at 17:20:23



[diaryland]
* m a y s t a r *
designs

Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker Lilypie1st Birthday Ticker
www.flickr.com


Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com