*
maystar design
Get awesome blog templates like this one from BlogSkins.com
* * *
Are We There Yet?

The baby isn't here yet. I am in a state of anxiety every time I feel some stomach-area discomfort. I start to wonder, "Is it time?!?". When I had Jonas, I didn't feel my contractions. I went to the hospital because my water broke. I wonder if it will be different this time.
A few days ago after I picked up Jonas from pre-school, he said, "Are we going home?"
I said, "Yes. Where do you want to go?"
He said, "Lets go to the hospital and get the baby."
I said, "We have to wait 2 more weeks."
I thought that was really sweet though! I hope his excitement lasts.
About a week before that conversation we were sitting on the couch and he said, "When the baby comes, I will have a brother. He can sleep there (pointing to the bassinet set up in the living room)."
I was pretty amazed. Apparently my mom had explained some things to him and he actually paid attention. By the way, he still doesn't speak very clearly. These sentences are translated for your benefit.
This morning at school they watched the movie The Trumpet of the Swan because they have been studying EB White, the author. Jonas said something and no one understood. So he said it again and added a trumpet pantomime with sound effects. And we were all like, "Oh yeah, Trumpet of the Swan?" Poor guy. I hope his pronunciation improves for his own sake. He really has a big vocabulary, it just doesn't come out very clearly.
Last Sunday I had a baby shower. I feel lucky to have had a shower for my second child, but I needed to get more gift cards for Babies R Us. I was hoping to be able to purchase the Sit-N-Stand stroller but I only got $45 worth of gift cards. Ho-hum. It was still a fun party. Two people hand made gifts for me; a quilt and a knitted blanket. I was very touched. Both are still being worked on, but they showed me the progress.
Money is a big problem right now. The problem is, we don't have any. Seriously the only thing we spend money on is gas. I mooch off of my parents for food and we are living in their house. Nick applied at Outback Steakhouse on Monday. He had to take a personality test. They determined his personality wasn't right for Outback. We were kind of taken aback by that development. Then he went to another restaurant to apply and they were all snooty. He told me the guy asked (in a scornful way), "Are you old enough to serve alcohol?" Nick said, "I'm 30...is that old enough?" Haha. Anyway he is hoping to work nights at a restaurant. Currenly he works days as a carpenter or house cleaner, depending on the day. I'm still doing the nursery two nights a week. But at $7 an hour it isn't much to get excited about. One night is was actually cancelled and no one told me. I was all depressed driving back home thinking of the gas I wasted getting out there. Money is dumb! (pouting).
I did have a fun night tonight...one of my oldest friends took me out to eat for a "girl's night out" kind of thing. It was at my favorite Thai place. I ate alot and felt sick afterwards like I might faint, but I just went to the bathroom and got my bearings. Then we went to Starbucks and she bought me a drink (decaf). So I added to the painfully full feeling. But I like iced lattes.
I have been drinking Raspberry Leaf Tea, which is supposed to whip your body into shape and decrease the amount of bleeding you have after childbirth. I had a hard time with Jonas, comming very close to needing a blood transfusion. So I am grasping at straws to prevent that from happening. I'm also 90% sure I'm not going to get an epidural this time. I didn't like the way it made my body feel. I'm going to try some other kind of pain relief. Some other anesthesia.
We are still in the process of cleaning out our old stuff. The more we get rid of, the easier it is to let go of other stuff. We are selling our PEZ collection on ebay right now. It is over 100 pieces. We both collected them before we ever met. We have already sold some comic books and baseball cards from Nick's collecting days. Also currently available are a huge lot of my dad's 70's records. I kept the ones I like, but if you are a Dolly Parton fan you might want to check out the auction. :)
One thing we found in my parents attic were several boxes full of childhood artwork my brother and I created. Now we are going through the boxes and only saving a few special items. Talk about a fire hazard. But it is kind of neat walking down memory lane in that way.
Hopefully next time I update it will be to show photos of my beautiful newborn son!
Any birthdate predictions?






Tuesday, Jul. 31, 2007 at 9:44 PM



[diaryland]
* m a y s t a r *
designs

Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker Lilypie1st Birthday Ticker
www.flickr.com


Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com