*
maystar design
Get awesome blog templates like this one from BlogSkins.com
* * *
truly Asia

We're back! We had a fun and tiring 4 days in Malaysia. All of the requested postcards have been mailed to their new owners.
We went on two organized tours, which normally I would shun, but since we had the added responsibility of entertaining the mother-in-law who is less adventurous than we are, I was really happy for the organizing burden to be off of my weak and tired shoulders.
One of the tours had kind of a nature theme and included a bird park, a butterfly park, and an orchid farm.

At the bird park:
Image hosted by Photobucket.com

Jonas has tears in his eyes because the bird is trained to put his mouth on your finger gently. When he did it to Jonas, Jonas freaked out. I don't think it actually hurt him. He got over it though.

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

I think this owl might have inspired the character "Gizmo" from Gremlins.

The second tour we did involved old historical buildings in Kuala Lumpur. We went to a Taoist Temple, a Hindu Temple, and a mosque. We also went to some cricket field (like, cricket the sport, not the insect) that I forgot the significance of, but another, larger tour group arrived while we were there. It was mostly Indian people (from India) and one man asked if he could take Jonas' photo (Jonas was running around in the grass). I said sure, and I started reloading film in my own camera. The next thing I know, I look up and there is a semi-circle of about 25 people with video cameras and still cameras taking pictures of Jonas. It was hilarious. I felt like we were the royal family or something.
On a semi-related note, I just want to say a word about underware. Everytime I go on a trip, I am reminded of how shabby my underware wardrobe is. I don't know why I don't notice it any other time, but when you have to pack underware for a certain number of days, and you can't find that number of underware that doesn't have holes in them...that just plunges me into self-pity mode. That being said, I threw away a much loved pair yesterday. Maybe I should say I put them out of their misery. It was time.
ckb


Thursday, Nov. 17, 2005 at 11:44 PM



[diaryland]
* m a y s t a r *
designs

Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker Lilypie1st Birthday Ticker
www.flickr.com


Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com