*
maystar design
Get awesome blog templates like this one from BlogSkins.com
* * *
plush placentas

I found myself at Target with a gift card and time to kill. What did I buy on my shopping spree?

1) a large duffel bag, on sale for $2.37.

2) a box of Malt-O-Meal (hot cereal)

3) a 3 pack of Eclipse gum.

Wow, do I know how to shop, or what? I spent probably an hour or more walking up and down every aisle. Mostly I was just enjoying myself. But I think I have a problem spending money. I just can't do it.

Last night I went to a childbirth class. It was extremely gruesome. We watched a video about the 3 stages of labor. I don't even want to watch any of those things occur in my own body, much less on the body of some strange lady on a video doing a natural birth. Talk about disgusting. I am trying to forget the fact that during childbirth some extremely sensitive parts of my body might well be ripped in half. Do I want to see a video about it, followed by a detailed, laminated 16 X 20 poster that explains any thing I might have missed? No!

I thought education helped us overcome our fears. In the case of a childbirth class, it just made me even more queasy.

Also disturbing was a knitted uterous and a plush model of a pelvis that the instructor used to show us how the uterous expels the plush placenta. Oh so tasty. (barf!)

ckb


Wednesday, Sept. 22, 2004 at 1:47 PM



[diaryland]
* m a y s t a r *
designs

Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker Lilypie1st Birthday Ticker
www.flickr.com


Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com