*
maystar design
Get awesome blog templates like this one from BlogSkins.com
* * *
Savanakett

This week I visited Savanaket provice (in the South of Laos) from Sunday-Wednesday night with my Lao friend. I had a fun time; we saw some exciting sights such as another Buddhist temple, a small museam with dinosaur bones, another part of the Mekong river, and a garden with a swing set in it. The thrills just don't stop. I also had alot of time to myself in the room I slept in, because my friend went for long periods of time to hang out with her family, telling me, "why don't you have a rest now?" (love that Asian tact!). So I read from like 12-3:30 every day during my 'rest time'. I also ate my meals by myself, I'm not sure why. The family prepared large meals and then left me alone to eat them. It actually worked in my favor, as they say in the Count of Monte Cristo, "neglect became my ally", and I was able to dispose of undesirable food without offending anyone. I did the 9 hour return trip via bus by myself. I sat by a really old man who offered me a handful of his sticky rice. I thought I told him I wanted some, but he nodded and put it away. I offered him some Pocky but he declined. Also on the bus was a young man who brought along his favorite pet rooster.

This weekend is a big festaval. It is the end of Buddhist lent, and also Saturday is the Dragon Boat races. Hopefully we can get some good pictures.


Thursday, Oct. 09, 2003 at 1:05 PM



[diaryland]
* m a y s t a r *
designs

Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker Lilypie1st Birthday Ticker
www.flickr.com


Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com