*
maystar design
Get awesome blog templates like this one from BlogSkins.com
* * *
Laos is in the house

Oh! It feels so good to be back in Asia again. Of course, I am in Laos this time, and not China. I find myself being like the new kid in elementary school who couldn't shut up talking about all of the great and fun things about his hometown.

"One time, in China..."

I have to confess that I have definately been 'working for the weekend'. Since I arrived, I have been 'training' every day from 9-4, having language lessons in the evening, and hanging out with new friends I have met who are staying in the Guesthouse/villa that we are in until we get settled into our more permanent residence (the cutest little Lao style house you have ever seen in your life! it is almost Swiss-family Robinson-esque!) Tommorrow I will go do something touristy and go see this big concrete arch thing the Lao built a few years ago for no reason at all other than they had alot of aid money given to them to finish their airport. They thought an arch was a more pressing need. Can't wait to climb up it!

The house stuff seems to be falling into place, and we are thinking we might move in as early as next week. We still have to sign some stuff. I am a little worried that the location of the house will cause us to be secluded from the rest of our American friends, but it does put us in a place where we will be surrounded by all things Lao, which is good for assimilation.

It is going to be a full year. I already feel like I need to stay alot longer than that.

ckb



Friday, Sept. 12, 2003 at 10:18 PM



[diaryland]
* m a y s t a r *
designs

Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker Lilypie1st Birthday Ticker
www.flickr.com


Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com