*
maystar design
Get awesome blog templates like this one from BlogSkins.com
* * *
my beautiful leg

Last evening I played badminton again (not to be confused with goodminton). I would like to reinact an actual conversation that took place.

Chinese teacher: �Your leg is very beautiful.�

Me: �Oh! Thank you!�

American teacher: �Did she just say that your leg is beautiful?�

Me: �Yes.�

American teacher: �Well I think BOTH of your legs are beautiful.�

Me: �Yes, but only one is REAL. Can you guess which?�

I am accustomed to receiving such compliments now. It is not weird or gross anymore, they say stuff like that all of the time. They really mean it too! Not in a weird way. Earlier in the year my husband went swimming and was told by another male teacher that he has �a very charming body.� Haha. Ha.

I find it very humor. *note, last sentence contained intentional Chinglish*

There is a campaign to fix all of the public signs that contain Chinglish in Beijing. They have to boost their image. It just doesn�t do to have a �Pubic Library�, or to see a sign reminding you to �Please bang in the door.�

My real fear is that after I leave this place, I will find that my English skills have deteriorated a great deal, and what sounds right to me will actually be none other than Chinglish. I read back a few entries ago when I said that I was �having trouble finding sleep.� Finding sleep? That isn�t correct English! Or is it? I just don�t know anymore!

ckb



Tuesday, Jun. 03, 2003 at 12:17 PM



[diaryland]
* m a y s t a r *
designs

Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker Lilypie1st Birthday Ticker
www.flickr.com


Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com