*
maystar design
Get awesome blog templates like this one from BlogSkins.com
* * *
Beijinger city girl

I had a rip-roarin' good time this weekend shoppin' 'till I were droppin' in the big cit-ae of Beijinger this weekend. Ich bin Beijinger. I had a "girls' weekend" with my colleagues. I bought pearls, art (a painting and some batik fabric), tea, and a kite. I am so Chinese now. I never liked shopping before I came here. It is most exhilarating for two reasons 1) you pay the price that you want to pay, thanks to skillful bargaining 2) everything is already dirt cheap.

My Chinese language is getting allot better two. I conducted a couple of my bargaining transactions in 100% Chinese, no sign language at all. I even threw in a comment, in Chinese, that if I spent too much money, my husband would be angry with me. I am so good, baby!

I know enough language to function in practical situations like 1) going somewhere in a cab 2) ordering food in a restaurant and 3) bargaining.

I just can't carry on meaningful and deep conversations or talk about anything of a personal nature. That is my limit.

Nick has tapped into a romantic vein and has bought me many birthday gifts. He has a plan to give me one each day for the six days leading up to the glorious event. This started on Sunday. So far I have received some wooden spoons and forks, a collection of Jack London short stories, and several cans of peanuts and, yes BLUE DIAMOND ALMONDS! I haven't had these coveted nuts since some time in early 2002. He is doin' good. Real good.

Lord bless him.

ckb



Monday, Apr. 07, 2003 at 8:44 PM



[diaryland]
* m a y s t a r *
designs

Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker Lilypie1st Birthday Ticker
www.flickr.com


Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com