*
maystar design
Get awesome blog templates like this one from BlogSkins.com
* * *
protest protest, why o why?

This is an e-mail that I received on Saturday from the Embassy.

To American Citizens in the Beijing Consular District

This is one of an occasional series of messages from the U.S. Embassy's American Citizen Services unit to American Citizens registered with the U.S. Embassy in China.

ADVISORY

� This advisory is in effect for today, March 22 and tomorrow, March 23

� There is a real possibility of a large demonstration at the U.S. Embassy

� We do not know the time of the demonstration

� We advise that you avoid the area of the U.S. Embassy, including the area near the Public Affairs unit.

American citizens can contact their American Citizen Services Unit. Citizens are further advised to check the Embassy web site for security updates, and the Department of State web site for information on the security situation in other countries.

I find this quite puzzling. I just hope no one got hurt by some zealous protester. Which is more futile, a protest that really only affects ex-patriot citizens, or the war itself?

Yesterday I didn't leave the house. I was alone for most of the day. In the afternoon I was being a good wife and baking some cookies when the power went out. I decided that since I couldn't use the oven without power, I would check e-mail. The phone line didn't work. I started to have visions of being interned in my apartment with no electricity or phone or water. That would be hell. Luckily, before my fatalism could totally seize me, the power came back on. *phew*

I am skipping a faculty meeting right now.

ckb



Monday, Mar. 24, 2003 at 7:42 AM



[diaryland]
* m a y s t a r *
designs

Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker Lilypie1st Birthday Ticker
www.flickr.com


Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com