*
maystar design
Get awesome blog templates like this one from BlogSkins.com
* * *
Christmas without dixie

Christmas is comming. I am bracing myself for my first Christmas away from home and country. But I think it won't be all that depressing, because we only have one day off. So it isn't alot of time to sit around and mope.

I am trying to teach my class about the traditional and secular elements of the season that is Christmas. Some concepts are easy to explain to 5 and 6-year-olds who don't speak English; some are not so easy. Santa Claus is always referred to as "Christmas Old Man" by my students, "stockings" are "Christmas socks", and today I was called "teacher Angel". Lil' boogers!

Today we colored at Nativity Scene; tomorrow I will read them the Christmas story. Alot of the kids colored Mary and Jesus with black hair, which I thought was cool, and alot of them colored the star like a rainbow, but alot of them also colored the star brown. I don't know what is up with that one, maybe being raised in a communist country they don't know much about what glorious heavenly star light is supposed to look like when it shines upon a new born Messiah. But it is really cute how seriously they work on their coloring.

I don't know if I mentioned this yet, but my brother's band has a real life website now at http://www.oldamericandream.com ... It has some nice pictures on it, including one of our 20-year-old cat, Snowy. She is not really as fat as she is in the picture. I think she must have been scared, so maybe her fur was all poofed out.

You know what else I haven't told you, I was sick last week. I layed around for 3 days straight, languishing in my germs and being semi-concious. By day 3, Dave was also sick with me. Sheba made us some soup and prayed that there would be 'healing in the pot'. I guess it worked.

ckb


Thursday, Dec. 12, 2002 at 8:35 PM



[diaryland]
* m a y s t a r *
designs

Lilypie 3rd Birthday Ticker Lilypie1st Birthday Ticker
www.flickr.com


Weblog Commenting and Trackback by HaloScan.com